Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming

YAMA, Cambodge, 2009 (2016)

Antoine d’Agata


Antoine d’Agata

Exhibition from October 28th to November 26th 2016

[ Vernissage le jeudi 27 octobre de 18h à 21h ]

ATLAS gathers all the recent works of Antoine d’Agata. This exhibition is the fruit of a cinematographic and artistic project started in 2013 with the release of the movie entitled ATLAS. White noise, an installation conceived after the movie is currently on show at LaBanque as part of the exhibition entitled Dépenses (curated by Lea Bismuth).From this project, Antoine d’Agata published a book of the same name to be released next October by Editions Textuel. The series featured at the gallery is his last one entitled “Paradigmes”. It reveals a new formal approach at the crossroad between photographic and cinematographic practice.

Before anything, ATLAS is a journey. It is the recording of the obsessions and sensitive experiences of the artist. Going from one continent to another, Antoine d’Agata tells us a troubling and murky story about prostitutes he met and places he visited. His nights left him with bits and pieces of “dark realities” and the “destructive satisfaction of desire”.

“Inside the different chronologies and accumulations that constitute Atlas and Paradigmes, certainty collapses and reality dissolves into fragmented sequences of life. The dark and hidden face of the world appeals to me, the cursed or taboo side of it. Under the conscious influence of sexual disorders and narcotics, I compromise myself both physically and mentally. Addiction to chemical substances is key to my capacity to constantly reinvent my own destiny through photography, the way I look at the world as well as my actions.”

Download press kit

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir

Vue de l'exposition

Antoine d’Agata

Atlas

Antoine d’Agata

Exposition du 28 octobre au 26 novembre 2016

[ Vernissage le jeudi 27 octobre de 18h à 21h ]

ATLAS réunit les tous derniers travaux d’Antoine d’Agata. Cette exposition s’entend comme le maillon d’une entreprise cinématographique et artistique commencée en 2013 par la sortie du film ATLAS. Une installation (White noise) pensée à partir de ce film est d’ailleurs exposée à LaBanque dans l’exposition Dépenses (commissariat Léa Bismuth). De ce projet, Antoine d’Agata a également conçu un livre du même nom, dont la sortie est prévue pour le mois d’octobre aux Editions Textuel. La dernière série « Paradigmes » présentée à la galerie fait quant à elle état d’une nouvelle approche formelle à la frontière du photographique et du filmique.

ATLAS est d’abord un voyage, l’enregistrement des obsessions et des expériences sensorielles de l’artiste. De continents en continents, Antoine d’Agata documente ainsi une histoire anxiogène et trouble, celle des prostituées rencontrées et des lieux visités. Il extrait de ses nuits « ses réalités sombres » et la « satisfaction destructrice du désir ».

« Au sein des chronologies et accumulations qui constituent Atlas et Paradigmes, les certitudes s’effondrent et la réalité se défait sous forme de séquences de vie fragmentées. Je suis attiré par la part sombre et cachée du monde, par son caractère maudit ou tabou. Sous l’influence préméditée de désordres sexuels et narcotiques, je me compromets, physiquement et mentalement. L’addiction aux substances chimiques est le principe actif de ma capacité à réinventer constamment mon propre destin, mon regard et mes gestes à travers l’action photographique».

Télécharger le dossier de presse