Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming

Marina Abramovic, Insomnia, 1997, Courtesy Galerie Cent-8


Marina Abramovíc, Bertran Berrenger, Véronique Boudier, Serge Comte, Béatrice Cussol, Olivier Dollinger, Yan Duyvendak, Eric Duyckaerts, Dora Garcia, Liliana Moro, François Nouguiès, Catherine Poncin, Paul Pouvreau, David Renaud, Bojan Sarcevic, Frieda Schuman, Nathalie Talec, Franck & OlivierTurpin, Brigitte Zieger

Exhibition from january 15th to 26th 2002

The starting point of this project stemmed from a simple, even fleeting observation, of a certain contemporary artistic production, more specifically in the field of visual arts, (but equally in the field of choreography), dramatising, staging, the territory of intimacy*.

Intimacy (already well-documented) is exposed, projected, exhibited. The artistic postures observed reveal a necessity to show oneself, to live, to create, experiences. It is the body of the artist himself which ‘performs’ this intrusion into reality. Maybe as a reaction to the virtual. This body reinvests space, intention, movement, by means of gesture.

The attitude of the artists exhibited in IN/EX-HIBITION is characteristic of a generation conscious of its position in the history of time. It does not show the need to replay the heroic strides made during the 60s and 70s. It profits from the results. Nevertheless, its attitude is more ambiguous: where previous generations chose to stay on the outskirts of the society of the spectacle, this one participates fully by proposing works which criticise it while always evading it.

IN/EX-HIBITION unfolds in two superimposed areas of the ‘Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire’. On the ground floor, the screen is seen as the only exhibition area.

A specific programme of videos will be shown in succession on one projection surface.

On the first floor, more conventionally, the videos will be shown on monitors. They will be juxtaposed with fixed image drawings, photographs and sculptures to facilitate the greatest possible exploration of the question of intimacy.

Download press kit

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir

Marina Abramovic, Insomnia, 1997, Courtesy Galerie Cent-8

IN / EX-HIBITION

Marina Abramovíc, Bertran Berrenger, Véronique Boudier, Serge Comte, Béatrice Cussol, Olivier Dollinger, Yan Duyvendak, Eric Duyckaerts, Dora Garcia, Liliana Moro, François Nouguiès, Catherine Poncin, Paul Pouvreau, David Renaud, Bojan Sarcevic, Frieda Schuman, Nathalie Talec, Franck & OlivierTurpin, Brigitte Zieger

Exposition du 15 au 26 janvier 2002

Le point de départ de ce projet est né d’une observation simple, sommaire même, d’une certaine production artistique actuelle, plus particulièrement dans le champ des arts visuels, (mais également dans le champ chorégraphique), mettant en scène, donnant en spectacle, le territoire de l’intimité*.

L’intime (déjà fort bien commenté) est exposé, projeté, exhibé. Les postures artistiques observées révèlent une nécessité de se montrer, de vivre, de faire, des expériences. C’est le corps de l’artiste lui-même qui « performe » cette effraction dans la réalité. Peut-être en réaction au virtuel. Ce corps réinvesti l’espace, l’objet, le mouvement, étendu aux gestes.

L’attitude des artistes présentés dans IN/EX-HIBITION est caractéristique d’une génération consciente de sa situation dans le temps historique. Elle n’éprouve pas le besoin de rejouer les étapes héroïques des années 60-70. Elle en prend la suite. Néanmoins, il y a davantage d’ambiguïté dans leur attitude : là où les générations précédentes restaient volontairement dans la marge de la société du spectacle, celle-ci y participe tout en proposant des œuvres qui la critiquent et toujours lui échappent.

IN/EX-HIBITION se déploie dans les deux espaces superposés de la Galerie des Filles du Calvaire. Au rez-de-chaussée, l’écran est considéré comme espace unique d’exposition.

Un programme spécifique de vidéos se succèdent sur une même surface de projection.

A l’étage, de manière plus conventionnelle, les œuvres vidéos seront présentées sur des moniteurs. Elles seront confrontées à des images fixes dessins, photographies et à des objets-sculptures afin d’exposer le plus largement possible les territoires de l’intime.

Télécharger le dossier de presse