Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toile

Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toile

Merlin James

Merlin James

Exhibition from september 4th to 26th 2007

The Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire is pleased to present the first solo exhibition in France by British painter Merlin James in echo to his exhibition at the Wales Pavilion at the Venice Biennale, 2007.

Anticipating much of today’s painting ‘revival’, James’s practice, evolving over the last two decades, is at once playful and somber, emotive and rigourous, physical and illusionistic. His paintings include elements of landscape, interior and abstraction; depictions of structures such as sea walls and piers; images of figures or anonymous buildings and houses; transcriptions of older art and antique photographs.

Mood is often melancholic or restless. Style and idiom are varied and unpredictable. Concerns with genre, convention and artifice have been a constant in James’s work, as part of an interrogation of the language of painting and the nature of aesthetic experience.

Download press kit
Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toileZee, 2006An Image, 2007Figure, 1995-2000

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toile

Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toile

Merlin James

Merlin James

Exposition du 04 au 26 septembre 2007

La galerie Les filles du calvaire est heureuse de présenter la première exposition personnelle en France du peintre britannique Merlin James en écho à son exposition au Pavillon du Pays de Galles de la Biennale de Venise, 2007

La pratique développée par James au cours de ces vingt dernières années, à la fois ludique et sombre, sensible et rigoureuse, physique et illusionniste, se situe à l’avant-poste du « renouveau » actuel de la peinture. Ses toiles font appel au paysage, aux espaces intérieurs et à l’abstraction ; elles décrivent tantôt des structures telles que quais et jetées, silhouettes ou constructions anonymes, tantôt réinterprètent des œuvres du passé et d’anciennes photographies.

Le ton est souvent mélancolique et tourmenté. Le style et la manière varient de façon imprévisible. Depuis toujours, le travail de James s’attache aux questions de genre, de convention et d’artifice, interrogeant ainsi le langage de la peinture et la nature de l’expérience esthétique.

Télécharger le dossier de presse
Tree, 2003-2006, Acrylique sur toileZee, 2006An Image, 2007Figure, 1995-2000