Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Exhibition view / First floor<br />
©Laurent Petitcolas

Exhibition view / First floor
©Laurent Petitcolas

Paulo Nozolino

Loaded Shine

Paulo Nozolino

From March 10th to April 21st 2018

[ Opening on Saturday 10th March – 3:00 pm to 7:00 pm ]

Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire is proud to present « Loaded Shine », first solo exhibition of Paulo Nozolino at the gallery. This twenty-picture-series, presented at PhotoEspaña 2017, summarizes with strength the photographical conceptual work the artist has carried out for more than forty years.

Paulo Nozolino is without doubt a leading figure in European and Portuguese photography. He began his artistic career in London’s lively atmosphere of the seventies. Then he set out on a series of journeys across Europe and countries in the Arab World between 1983 and 1995. His journey of initiation and solitude has been retraced in Penumbra, a work reflecting the photographer’s political concerns. In 2002, the Maison Européenne de la Photographie held a retrospective exhibition of his work -Nada. In 2005, he was invited for a new retrospective -Far Cry- at the Museu de Serralves in Porto presenting for the first time the work of a Portuguese photographer.

The pictures displayed at the gallery were shot between 2008 and 2013 in New York, Lisbon, Paris, Berlin and in rural areas of France and Portugal. All of them describe a sequence of objects vertically, with no indication of place nor time. Nozolino chose this rigorous verticality nearly twenty years ago, reducing his field of vision still further in search for the essential. « Pure » as he would say. Ever since he began his work the photographer has nurtured a singular, black and white style, a dark density now a hallmark of his work. The only purpose of light is to highlight the dark.

 

With the support of Camões – Centre culturel portugais à Paris

Download press kit
Exhibition view / First floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / First floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / First floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / First and second floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / Second floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / Second floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasExhibition view / Second floor<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasPaulo Nozolino, Sans titre #12, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #02, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #18, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #08, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #04, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #05, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Vue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée<br />
©Laurent Petitcolas

Vue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée
©Laurent Petitcolas

Paulo Nozolino

Loaded Shine

Paulo Nozolino

Exposition du 10 mars au 21 avril 2018

[ Vernissage Samedi 10 mars 2018 de 15h à 19h ]

La galerie Les filles du calvaire est fière d’annoncer « Loaded Shine », la première exposition personnelle de Paulo Nozolino à la galerie. Cette série de vingt images présentée en 2017 à PhotoEspaña synthétise avec force l’écriture d’un travail photographique mené depuis plus de 40 ans par l’artiste.

Paulo Nozolino est sans conteste l’une des figures majeures de la photographie portugaise et européenne. C’est dans le Londres animé des années 70 qu’il débute son parcours. S’en suit une série de voyages en Europe, et dans les pays du monde arabe qu’il sillonne entre 1983 et 1995. Le récit de cette errance initiatique et solitaire est retracé dans Penumbra, un ouvrage où s’illustre les préoccupations politiques du photographe. En 2002, la Maison européenne de la photographie lui consacre une exposition rétrospective, Nada. En 2005, il est invité pour une nouvelle rétrospective (Far Cry) au Museu de Serralves de Porto, qui accueille pour la première fois le travail d’un photographe portugais.

Les images présentées à la galerie ont été prises entre 2008 et 2013 à New York, Lisbonne, Paris, Berlin et les campagnes françaises et portugaises. Toutes décrivent verticalement une séquence d’objets, sans indice de lieu ou de temps. Nozolino a opté pour cette stricte verticalité il y a presque 20 ans, réduisant toujours plus son champ de vision à la recherche de l’essentiel. « Du pur » dirait-il. Depuis ses débuts, le photographe cultive une singulière écriture en noir et blanc, une densité sombre désormais indissociable de son œuvre. Si la lumière est bien présente, elle n’a pour véritable intérêt que de montrer le noir.

 

Avec le soutien de Camões – Centre culturel portugais à Paris

Télécharger le dossier de presse
Vue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasVue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasVue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasVue d'exposition / Rez-de-chaussée et premier étage<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasVue d'exposition / Premier étage<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasVue d'exposition / Premier étage<br />
©Laurent PetitcolasPaulo Nozolino, Sans titre #12, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #02, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #18, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #08, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #04, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013 Paulo Nozolino, Sans titre #05, série Loaded Shine, 2008-2013