Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Chut, 1999

Chut, 1999

Sylvain Solaro

Colères & petits riens

Sylvain Solaro

From October 10th to November 27th 1999

In the course of his readings, Sylvain Solaro selects–Biblical citations, critical texts, articles from the press and makes himself a repertory of “rages” bringing together news items, shocking, gratuitous violence, pretentious aestheticisms, idiotic advice. Similarly, subjects his private world in review and photographs favourite objects and models that he renders unreal through fragmented shots and colour changes.

Like an entomologist in search of rare butterflies, Solaro tacks these selected bits that he seems to want to classify by species into boxes, creating comparisons that are both ironic and poetic. These makeshift boxes are like photographic reliquaries; recalling the popular icons of the Middle Ages, they give their content a sacred aspect on the edge of the absurd.

Solaro’s intimist work is taking a turn toward more “involved” art, but his vision of the world is still fed by his pronounced taste for a Surrealistic game of mirrors recalling that of the Joseph Cornell.

Chut, 1999

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir

Chut, 1999

Sylvain Solaro

Colères & petits riens

Sylvain Solaro

Du 10 octobre au 27 novembre 1999

Au gré de ses lectures, Sylvain Solaro sélectionne, citations bibliques, textes critiques, articles de presse, et se fabrique un répertoire de « colères » regroupant faits divers, violences choquantes et gratuites, esthétismes prétentieux, conseils idiots. De même, il passe en revue son univers intime et photographie objets fétiches et modèles qu’il déréalise par une prise de vue morcelée et des virages colorés.

Tel un entomologiste à la recherche de papillons rares, Solaro épingle dans des boites ces morceaux choisis qu’il semble vouloir classer selon leurs espèces, créant ainsi des confrontations à la fois ironiques et poétiques. Ces boites bricolées, sorte de reliquaires photographiques, confèrent à leur contenu un aspect sacré, à la limite de l’absurde, rappelant les icônes populaires du moyen âge.

Le travail intimiste de Sylvain Solaro évolue ici vers un art plus « concerné », sa vision du monde restant cependant nourrie par son goût prononcé pour une mise en abîme surréaliste qui rappelle celle de l’insolite Joseph O’Cornell.