Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
MOSER Claudio, Grand Central Station I, 2000 ; GRONON Philippe, Tableau noir, Graduate Center, New York, 2004 ; FIGARELLA Dominique, Qui est, 2004

MOSER Claudio, Grand Central Station I, 2000 ; GRONON Philippe, Tableau noir, Graduate Center, New York, 2004 ; FIGARELLA Dominique, Qui est, 2004

Tableaux-Ecrans

Commissariat de Catherine Perret

Dike Blair, Denis Castellas, Stephen Dean, Uri Dotan, Eric Duyckaerts, Heide Fasnacht, Ivan Fayard, Dominique Figarella, Barbara Gallucci, Philippe Gronon, Millree Hughes, Claudio Moser

Exhibition from march 12th to april 16th 2005

If you just think of the millions alight television screens, working at the same time in billions hotel rooms around the world, if you just think of the billions of working PC screens, play-stations, wall-papers on the mobiles, of the amount of time and lives spent in front of immaterial pictures, you can imagine that the screen-picture has become definitely the dominant way to express experience out of art and, consequently, in art.

The works, which are presented in this exhibition, do not make an exception to this rule. They become integrated into this mood. But they enlarge the frame. They accelerate the movement. They are the movement.

Some of those movements seem to be stopped or suspended: one calls them pictures. Others seem to be liberated of the frame and seem to move as fast as the pictures they express: one call them video’s.

Independently of those recognised categories, we’ll call them “ screen-pictures “, in the same sense as Sigmund Freud, when he spoke about “ screen-memories ”.

Those « screen-memories » remain so present in our mind that they seem fixed forever. The secret of those pictures lies in the high definition of their surface: even contrasted as the shadow of an explosion in a sunny sky. The “screen-memories” are the marks of invisible shocks, implosions of affects.

We can observe one and the same thing in the “screen-pictures», whatever the techniques may be. In the picture, which can be more or less subliminal, one can see the track of a certain expression rhythm, which rhythm is the expression of the speed differential between chosen and necessary materials by the artists. The picture expresses the setting of the body going by those materials, the recycling of the energies into power and the switch of this power in an emotional language.

One could call those pictures “screen-affects» but we fear that the viewer should look for pictures “of” affects. The affects of which they transmit the emotional load are still involved in the frame of work. They do not have names. They only disturb the surface of the screen, as a slight wind ruffled a crystal-clear water.

MOSER Claudio, Grand Central Station I, 2000 ; GRONON Philippe, Tableau noir, Graduate Center, New York, 2004 ; FIGARELLA Dominique, Qui est, 2004FASNACHT Heide, Explosion, 2005 ; MOSER Claudio, Grand Central Station I, 2000CASTELLAS Denis, Sans titre, 1993 ; CASTELLAS Denis, Sans titre, 1993FAYARD Ivan, Spermator, 2005 ; LEVI Renée, Sans titre, 2004FASNACHT Heide, Explosion, 2005FASNACHT Heide, Rain in Windowpane, 2004 ; BLAIR Dike, Untitled, 2004 ; FASNACHT Heide, Rain on Windowpane IV, 2004

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir

MOSER Claudio, Grand Central Station I, 2000 ; GRONON Philippe, Tableau noir, Graduate Center, New York, 2004 ; FIGARELLA Dominique, Qui est, 2004

Tableaux-Ecrans

Commissariat de Catherine Perret

Dike Blair, Denis Castellas, Stephen Dean, Uri Dotan, Eric Duyckaerts, Heide Fasnacht, Ivan Fayard, Dominique Figarella, Barbara Gallucci, Philippe Gronon, Millree Hughes, Claudio Moser

Exposition du 12 mars au 16 avril 2005

Il suffit de penser aux millions de téléviseurs allumés en même temps dans des millions de chambres d’hôtels où n’importe qui dort n’importe où, aux milliards de moniteurs, d’ordinateurs, de consoles , de “ papiers peints ” affichés sur les mobiles, à la somme des vies passées devant des écrans immatériels à la surface desquels courent des images immobiles pour savoir que la forme-tableau est plus que jamais la forme dominante de l’expérience hors de l’art et par conséquent dans l’art.

Les œuvres présentées dans cette exposition n’échappent pas à ce constat. Elles en acceptent la donne. Elles en desserrent l’étau. Elles le prennent de vitesse. Elles sont elles-mêmes des vitesses.

Certaines de ces vitesses semblent arrêtées ou suspendues : on les appelle des tableaux. Certaines paraissent au contraire libérées du cadre et aussi véloces que les images qu’elles véhiculent : on dit que ce sont des vidéos. Indépendamment de ces catégories reçues, nous les appellerons “ tableaux-écrans ” au sens où Freud parle de “ souvenirs-écrans ”.

Les souvenirs-écrans sont ces souvenirs si vivants qu’ils en paraissent figés à jamais. L’énigme de ces encadrés de la mémoire réside dans la haute définition de leur surface : aussi tranchée que l’ombre au sol d’une explosion en plein ciel. Les souvenirs-écrans sont les empreintes ou les retombées de décharges invisibles : des implosions d’affects.

Dans les tableaux-écrans, de même, quelles que soient la ou les techniques employées, l’image, plus ou moins subliminale, est la trace d’un certain rythme d’impression, et ce rythme l’expression du différentiel de vitesses entre les matériaux à la fois choisis et subis par les artistes. L’image dit la mise au travail du corps par ces matériaux, le recyclage de ses énergies en forces d’inscription, la conversion de ces forces en qualités émotionnelles.

On pourrait donc les nommer des “ tableaux-affects ” si l’on ne craignait que le regardeur n’y cherche des tableaux “ d’ ” affects. Les affects dont ils transmettent la charge sont encore pris dans la fibre du travail. Ils n’ont pas de nom. Ils troublent juste un instant la surface cristalline de l’écran.