Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Ethan Murrow<br />
Marathon, 2021<br />
Graphite on paper<br />
91 x 91 cm

Ethan Murrow
Marathon, 2021
Graphite on paper
91 x 91 cm

Ethan Murrow

Pollen Song

Ethan Murrow

Exhibition from 4th september to 23rd october 2021

[ Interruption from september 28 to october 6 ]

Les filles du calvaire are pleased to announce Pollen Song, the first solo exhibition of American artist Ethan Murrow at the gallery. With virtuosity, he creates theatrical and extraordinary stories on paper, exploiting changes of scale to create striking perspectives. Detailed and surprising, his works feature hybrid characters, half human half plant, whose attitudes combine adventure, derision, pleasure and sometimes defeat.

For this exhibition the artist has produced a set of exceptional works that invites to a meditation about nature. In black and white or in color, they are displayed in situ, including a large composition on the walls of the gallery. It is by delving into memories of his childhood at his parents’ farm in rural Vermont that Murrow composed his drawings, so close to nature in which the character melts. This nature is abounding, and they try to tame it by technique, patience or cunning. Their efforts, probably in vain, bear witness to their optimistic commitment.

“Growing up on a farm deep in the hills of rural Vermont I would always thirst for summer. I loved the deep bake of the heat after a dousing rain, when the buzz of bees and the whir and chirp of insects and birds formed a constant harmony. These sounds were especially tempting because they foretold an oncoming bounty from the garden. Admittedly, I may have been listening to these natural arias as I napped and avoided my mother’s demands to weed her previously noted amazing and vast vegetable patch. Now I see how lucky I was to grow up in a place, in a moment, in a family that invested so much into the land, whether it was logging, animal husbandry or growing fruits and vegetables. My own urban life now means I consider these memories with a sweet sharpness and nostalgia. I recognize that we are in an urgent collective struggle to partner with nature, to preserve, maintain and heal the land that gives us so much.

These drawings arise from longing and loss for a mythical ecological past. I learned quickly through trial and error on the farm that any natural bounty involves so much more than my childhood rosy view. It arises from things like struggle, hard work, passion, luck, innovation, persistence and privilege.

The characters in these drawings are mid-struggle, trying to figure out their own relationship with the earth. They are engaged in somewhat absurd and epic tasks, seeking out rare ingredients in the sky, tending to bees above a valley, calling out to clouds for rain and climbing ladders to imagined gardens and Edens that may only exist in their minds. I often position my narratives as self-portraits and these works are no different, I am the protagonist here, who is dreaming of a flowing market basket and may have missed the warning signs right in front of my face. Yet the optimist in me sees these individuals as essential, despite the fact that they may be occasionally misinformed. Each of them believes so wholeheartedly in their goals that I want to believe they may actually be able to bring a soothing rain from the sky. If we all get down in the soil and sniff and listen we would probably be better off. The humans in my drawings are more than willing to try anything, to believe in magic, to talk to bees, to coo a lullaby to a plant in need of nutrients and laugh with unadulterated joy when a berry is at it’s juiciest. I admire their enthusiasm and pleasure in their own pursuits amongst the natural world. Maybe their giddy enthusiasm for all things that contribute to life cycles will rub off on me and others and help us collaborate with the earth more and more.”

Ethan Murrow<br />
Marathon, 2021<br />
Graphite on paper<br />
91 x 91 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Chanter Highflow, 2021<br />
Acrylic on board<br />
120 x 120 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Flora Boundary, 2021<br />
Graphite on paper<br />
178 x 122 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Pollen Song, 2021<br />
Graphite on paper<br />
121 x 91 cmEthan Murrow<br />
The Gleaner, 2021<br />
Graphite on paper<br />
91 x 91 cm

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Ethan Murrow<br />
Marathon, 2021<br />
Graphite sur papier<br />
91 x 91 cm

Ethan Murrow
Marathon, 2021
Graphite sur papier
91 x 91 cm

Visite virtuelle

Ethan Murrow

Pollen Song

Ethan Murrow

Exposition du 4 septembre au 23 octobre 2021

[ Interruption temporaire du 28 septembre au 5 octobre 2021 inclus ]

Les filles du calvaire ont le plaisir d’annoncer Pollen Song, la première exposition personnelle de l’artiste américain Ethan Murrow à la galerie. Dessinateur virtuose, il campe sur papier des récits théâtraux et insolites en exploitant les changements d’échelle pour créer des perspectives saisissantes. Détaillées et surprenantes, ses œuvres mettent en scène des personnages hybrides, mi humain mi végétal dont les attitudes mêlent aventure, dérision, plaisir et parfois défaite.

Pour cette exposition l’artiste a produit un ensemble d’œuvres exceptionnelles qui invitent à une méditation sur la nature. En noir et blanc ou en couleurs, elles se déploient in situ jusque dans une grande composition sur les murs de la galerie. C’est en plongeant, comme ses personnages, dans ses souvenirs d’enfance à la ferme de ses parents dans le Vermont rural que l’artiste a composé ses dessins, si proche de la nature que le personnage incorpore. Elle y est abondante, foisonnante, et les personnages tentent de l’appréhender par la technique, la patience ou la ruse. Leurs efforts, probablement vains, sont autant de témoignages de leur engagement optimiste.

« J’ai grandi dans une ferme au cœur des collines du Vermont rural, toujours dans l’attente de ses étés. J’aimais la chaleur intense après une pluie battante, lorsque le bourdonnement des abeilles, le vrombissement des insectes et le gazouillis des oiseaux formaient une constante harmonie.

Ces sons étaient très attrayants car ils prédisaient un cadeau venant du jardin. Je l’admets, j’ai peut-être écouté ces bruits pendant les siestes en évitant les demandes de ma mère de désherber son magnifique et vaste potager. Maintenant, je vois à quel point j’ai eu de la chance de grandir dans un endroit et dans une famille qui a tant investi dans la terre, que ce soit l’exploitation forestière, l’élevage ou la culture de fruits et légumes. Ma vie urbaine m’amène désormais à observer ces souvenirs avec une douce lucidité et nostalgie. Je reconnais que nous sommes dans une lutte collective urgente pour s’associer à la nature, la préserver, entretenir et soigner la terre qui nous donne tant.

Ces dessins naissent du désir et de la perte d’un passé écologique mythique. A la ferme, j’ai rapidement appris, en essayant et en faisant des erreurs, que toutes récoltes impliquent bien plus que la vision romantique de mon enfance. Il est question de lutte, de travail acharné, de passion, de chance, d’innovation, de persévérance et de privilège.

Les personnages de ces dessins sont en pleine lutte, tentant d’appréhender leur relation avec la terre. Ils s’engagent dans des tâches parfois absurdes et épiques, à la recherche d’ingrédients rares dans le ciel, veillant sur des abeilles au-dessus d’une vallée, exhortant les nuages ​​à pleuvoir et escaladant des échelles vers des jardins imaginaires et des Edens qui n’existent que dans leur esprit. J’envisage souvent mes récits comme des autoportraits et ces œuvres n’y échappe pas, je suis ici le protagoniste, celui qui rêve d’un panier débordant de fruits et qui sans doute a manqué les panneaux de circulation devant lui. L’optimiste en moi considère ces personnes comme essentielles, bien qu’elles puissent parfois être mal informées. Chacun d’eux croit tellement en leurs objectifs que j’aime croire qu’ils pourraient bien faire descendre du ciel une pluie apaisante. Si nous nous baissions tous vers le sol, reniflions et écoutions, nous irions probablement mieux. Les humains dans mes dessins veulent tout essayer, croire en la magie, parler aux abeilles, chanter une berceuse à une plante qui a besoin de nutriments et rire de joie quand une baie est bien juteuse. J’admire l’enthousiasme et le plaisir de leurs activités dans le monde naturel. Peut-être, cet enthousiasme vertigineux pour tout ce qui contribue aux cycles de la vie déteindra sur moi et les autres, peut-être nous aidera-t-il aussi à collaborer avec la terre. »

Ethan Murrow<br />
Marathon, 2021<br />
Graphite sur papier<br />
91 x 91 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Chanter Highflow, 2021<br />
Acrylique sur carton<br />
120 x 120 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Flora Boundary, 2021<br />
Graphite sur papier<br />
178 x 122 cmEthan Murrow<br />
Pollen Song, 2021<br />
Graphite sur papier<br />
121 x 91 cmEthan Murrow<br />
The Gleaner, 2021<br />
Graphite sur papier<br />
91 x 91 cm