Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019

Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity
May-June2019

Katinka Lampe

Instadentity

Katinka Lampe

Exhibition from 18 May to 15 June 2019

[ Opening on Saturday 18 May 2019 (3pm to 8pm) ]

Three years after her last exhibition at the gallery, Dutch artist Katinka Lampe returns to Paris with a new set of paintings. Lampe’s work nearly always explores the question of our relationship with identity, whether it be intimate or overtly exposed. This time, she envisages the problematic construction of the image of oneself and of the other through the prism of social networks.

Instadentity reworks in painting the narcissistic ambiguity encouraged by social networks, of which adolescents are the first victims – and also the first players. Waiting for confirmation from others, implicated in a constant competition: Katinka Lampe’s models pose the question of the virtual connection, which aspires to reality. The result is neither criticism nor negative; it is, in the first instance, creative work. How does one accept the image of the other and construct one’s own? Finally, Lampe offers spectators the same games as Instagram: identities constructed and disguised which result in a haziness in the reciprocal recognition of the self and the other. Behind the expression of virtual identity there also lies the question of potential identity. By tending to the image and artifices of her models, the artist augments possibilities and plays with the multiple reality of the personality. The desire for transformation, crystallised by social networks, projects identity towards the future, like a desired-for becoming, always more beautiful.

 

Performance Instadentity with Katinka Lampe on Saturday 18 May 2019 – 5pm

Katinka Lampe will bring her models to life through a performance involving four or five dancers. Young, untouchable, fashionable and proud, they’ll fill the gallery space the way their images fill the canvas. The paintings then come to life in a protean choreography, between approach and catwalk and ballet movements. To get our “likes,” they’ll play out their role that they’ve proudly constructed for their new fictive lives.

 

 

Download press kit
Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Exhibition view Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
May-June2019Katinka Lampe, 5575181, 2018<br />
Oil on canvas, 55 x 75 cm<br />
Katinka Lampe, 1317185, 2018<br />
Oil on canvas, 130 x 170 cmKatinka Lampe, 1420182, 2018<br />
Oil on canvas, 140 x 200 cmKatinka Lampe, 1216174, 2017<br />
Oil on canvas, 120 x 160 cmKatinka Lampe, 1216175, 2017<br />
Oil on canvas, 120 x 160 cm<br />

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019

Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity
Mai-Juin 2019

Katinka Lampe

Instadentity

Katinka Lampe

Exposition du 18 mai au 15 juin 2019

[ Vernissage le samedi 18 mai 2019 de 15H à 20H ]

Trois ans après sa dernière exposition à la galerie, l’artiste hollandaise Katinka Lampe revient à Paris avec un ensemble inédit de peintures. Chez Lampe, il est presque toujours question de notre rapport à l’identité, qu’elle soit intime ou ouvertement exposée. Cette fois, c’est à travers le prisme des réseaux sociaux qu’elle envisage la problématique construction de l’image, de soi-même et de l’autre.

Instadentity reprend en peinture l’ambiguïté narcissique encouragée par les réseaux sociaux et dont les adolescents sont les premières victimes, les premiers joueurs aussi. Attendre la confirmation des autres, s’engager dans une permanente compétition : les modèles de Katinka Lampe posent la question du lien virtuel, qui aspire au réel. Le constat n’est ni critique, ni négatif, il est d’abord un travail de création. Comment accueillir l’image de l’autre et construire la sienne ? Elle propose finalement au spectateur les mêmes jeux que sur Instagram : des identités construites et déguisées desquelles résulte un flou dans la reconnaissance réciproque du soi et de l’autre. Derrière l’expression d’identité virtuelle il est aussi question d’identité potentielle. En soignant l’image et les artifices de ses modèles, l’artiste augmente les possibles et joue sur la réalité multiple de la personnalité. Le désir de transformation, cristallisé par les réseaux sociaux, projette l’identité vers le futur comme un devenir souhaité, toujours plus beau.

 

Performance Instadentity en présence de Katinka Lampe le 18 mai à 17H

Katinka Lampe fera vivre ses modèles à travers une performance de 4-5 danseurs. Jeunes, intouchables, fashionable et fiers, ils occuperont l’espace de la galerie comme leurs images occupent la toile. Les peintures s’animent alors dans une chorégraphie protéiforme, entre démarche de catwalk et mouvements de ballets. Pour obtenir nos « likes », ils rejouent le rôle qu’ils ont fièrement construit pour leur nouvelle vie fictionnelle.

 

 

Télécharger le dossier de presse
Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Vues de l'exposition Katinka Lampe - Instadentity<br />
Mai-Juin 2019Katinka Lampe, 5575181, 2018<br />
Huile sur toile, 55 x 75 cm<br />
Katinka Lampe, 1317185, 2018<br />
Huile sur toile, 130 x 170 cmKatinka Lampe, 1420182, 2018<br />
Huile sur toile, 140 x 200 cmKatinka Lampe, 1216174, 2017<br />
Huile sur toile, 120 x 160 cmKatinka Lampe, 1216175, 2017<br />
Huile sur toile, 120 x 160 cm<br />