Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Date missing (the failed picture), 2020

Date missing (the failed picture), 2020

Nelli Palomäki

Speed of Dark

Nelli Palomäki

Exhibition from May 17 to June 18, 2022

[ Opening Saturday May 14, 2022 (3pm - 8pm) ]

After a first solo show in 2018, Galerie Les filles du calvaire is pleased to present Speed of Dark by photographer Nelli Palomäki. Known for her timeless black and white portraits, mostly of children and young people, Nelli Palomäki takes an enigmatic look at evolving beings, family relationships and memory. Here at the gallery, she presents a new series of photographs marked by long periods spent at home in the Finnish countryside. Guided by the circumstances she took a deeper look what lies close to her. Working strictly around her house and the garden, with her close ones, the artist has developed an intimate and personal body of work. She questions our relationship to time and our daily environment, the duality of taming and wildness by instrumentalizing the alternations of light and darkness.

Speed of Dark by Nelli Palomäki (extract) :

« Darkness is both a mental and a concrete matter. Although the dark is taking over at times, it’s the light that is leading our way.

Nothing controls the process of making a photograph like light, or the lack of it. We live in a country where darkness seems to swallow us every autumn. Observing the light, and the absence of it, becomes obsessive. Mostly the light is at its most beautiful just before slipping away – or just between the arise and all too bright again.

All this recent time spent home made me realize how little I see, (or rather – stop and look!), what surrounds me. The beauty of the mundane, and the beauty of the cycle of the year, so strongly connected to the amount of light – and the dark. Garden waking up, blooming and dying again. Children secretly growing, myself reluctancly aging. Four seasons alternating and defining our spirits. This all endlessly repeating. Each year, by the end of the summer we are already frightened by the following months of darkness, on winter solstice we again hooray the light and bright that is on its way.”

Date missing (the failed picture), 20207th of June (Ylva, Susi, shepherd), 20207th of November (a son), 202110th of November (Ylva, mist), 2020On the Day of the Holy Innocents, 2021

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Date missing (the failed picture), 2020

Date missing (the failed picture), 2020

Nelli Palomäki

Speed of Dark

Nelli Palomäki

Exposition du 17 mai au 18 juin 2022

[ Vernissage samedi 14 mai 2022 (15h - 20h) ]

Après une première exposition personnelle en 2018, la Galerie Les filles du calvaire a le plaisir de présenter Speed of Dark de la photographe Nelli Palomäki. Reconnue pour ses portraits intemporels en noir et blanc, principalement d’enfants et de jeunes gens, Nelli Palomäki pose un regard énigmatique sur l’être en devenir, les relations familiales et la mémoire. Elle présente ici une nouvelle série de photographies marquée par les longs moments passés chez elle dans la campagne finlandaise. Guidée par les circonstances, elle s’est intéressée de plus près à ce qui l’entoure. Travaillant strictement autour de sa maison et de son jardin, avec ses proches, l’artiste a développé une œuvre intime et personnelle. Elle y interroge notre rapport au temps et à notre environnement quotidien, la dualité apprivoisement/sauvagerie en instrumentalisant les alternances de lumières et d’obscurité.

Speed of Dark par Nelli Palomäki :

 » L’obscurité est une question à la fois mentale et concrète. Bien qu’elle prenne parfois le dessus, c’est la lumière qui nous guide.

Rien ne contrôle le processus de réalisation d’une photographie comme la lumière, ou son absence. Nous vivons dans un pays (Finlande) où l’obscurité semble nous engloutir chaque automne. Observer la lumière, et son absence, devient obsessionnel. La plupart du temps, elle est la plus belle juste avant de disparaître – ou juste avant le lever du jour.

Tout ce temps passé récemment à la maison m’a fait réaliser à quel point je vois peu, (ou plutôt – je m’arrête et je regarde !), ce qui m’entoure : la beauté du quotidien et du cycle de l’année, si fortement liée à la quantité de lumière – et d’obscurité. Le jardin qui se réveille, fleurit et meurt à nouveau. Les enfants qui grandissent secrètement, moi-même qui vieillit à contrecœur. Quatre saisons qui s’alternent et définissent nos esprits. Tout cela se répète sans cesse. Chaque année, à la fin de l’été, nous sommes déjà effrayés par les mois d’obscurité qui suivront, et au solstice d’hiver, nous saluons à nouveau l’éclat qui arrive. »

Date missing (the failed picture), 20207th of June (Ylva, Susi, shepherd), 20207th of November (a son), 202110th of November (Ylva, mist), 2020On the Day of the Holy Innocents, 2021