Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022<br />
Color video, 1 min loop

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022
Color video, 1 min loop

KENNY DUNKAN | OFFSCREEN

Hôtel Salomon de Rothschild, Paris

Kenny Dunkan

From 20 October to 23 October 2022

« All life, in order to develop, must pass through an irreducible multiplicity of forms. […] In this incessant carnival of figures at once rubbing shoulders with one another contemporaneously and constituting a line of succession, forms fade into one another, pour into one another, engender one another. » Emanuele Coccia, Metamorphoses

Kenny Dunkan (born in 1988, in Guadeloupe. Lives and works in Paris) regularly draws from the visual culture of the Caribbean and specifically the carnivals, periods of reversal of social, cultural and political roles, to develop a work which addresses the French colonial heritage and the persistence of its modes of representation. To do so, the artist often starts with his own black body that he stages through different mediums, from video to performance, through sculpture or “assemblage”.

“By playing with collages and the accumulations of symbols I try to translate my fragmented and ambivalent being. Being all at once contradictory and composite. A blend between natural and artificial, material and spiritual. The installation explores the mutation and the change of state, and also invites to contemplation. I use the Caribbean carnival as a filter to deploy in the space a series of ornaments, talismans and protective masks. It leads to a universe which is both sensitive and manifest, a world of ambiguous feelings. The dialogue of the sculptures creates a narrative and reveals a cosmogony of the intimate.” Kenny Dunkan

Graduated from the École nationale des Arts Décoratifs de Paris in 2014, he won the ADAGP Prize for Visual Arts at the Salon de Montrouge in 2015. From 2016 to 2017, Kenny Dunkan was a resident at the Villa Medici, French Academy in Rome. In 2018, he participated in the opening exhibition of Lafayette Anticipations. In 2021, he exhibited at the Galerie Les filles du calvaire in Paris and joined the CNAP collections with the installation “COSMOS”. The same year, he became the laureate of the first Reiffers Art Initiatives mentorship and exhibited at the Studio des Acacias. Kenny Dunkan is represented by the Galerie Les filles du calvaire (Paris).

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022<br />
Color video, 1 min loop

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022<br />
Vidéo couleur, boucle 1 min

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022
Vidéo couleur, boucle 1 min

KENNY DUNKAN | OFFSCREEN

Hôtel Salomon de Rothschild, Paris

Kenny Dunkan

Du 20 au 23 octobre 2022

« Toute vie, pour se déployer, a besoin de passer par une multiplicité irréductible de formes. […] Dans cet incessant carnaval des figures qui se côtoient et se succèdent, les formes s’estompent les unes dans les autres, se versent les unes dans les autres, s’engendrent les unes des autres » Emanuele Coccia, Métamorphoses

Kenny Dunkan (né en 1988, en Guadeloupe. Vit et travaille à paris) puise régulièrement dans la culture visuelle des Caraïbes et en particulier dans celle des carnavals, périodes de renversement des rôles sociaux, culturels et politiques, pour développer une œuvre qui adresse l’héritage colonial français et la persistance de ses modes de représentation. Pour cela, l’artiste part souvent de son propre corps noir qu’il met en scène via différents médiums, de la vidéo à la performance en passant par la sculpture ou l’assemblage.

« Par un jeu de collages et d’accumulations de symboles je tente de traduire mon être fragmenté et ambivalent. Être tout à la fois, contradictoire, composite, patchwork. Rencontre du naturel et de l’artificiel, de la matière et du spirituel. L’installation explore la mutation et le changement d’état, elle propose aussi des arrêts sur image invitant à la contemplation. J’utilise le carnaval caribéen comme un filtre pour déployer dans l’espace une série de parures, talismans et masques protecteurs. On pénètre dans un univers à la fois sensible et manifeste, un monde de sensations ambiguës. Le dialogue des sculptures crée une narration et dévoile une cosmogonie de l’intime. » Kenny Dunkan

Diplômé de l’École nationale des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 2014, il remporte le prix de l’ADAGP des Arts plastiques du Salon de Montrouge en 2015. De 2016 à 2017, Kenny Dunkan est pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis, Académie de France à Rome. En 2018, il participe à l’exposition d’ouverture de Lafayette Anticipations. En 2021, il expose à la Galerie Les filles du calvaire à Paris et intègre la même année les collections du CNAP avec l’installation « COSMOS ». La même année, il devient lauréat du premier mentorat Reiffers Art Initiatives et expose au Studio des Acacias.

Kenny Dunkan, SOUSSÈ, 2022<br />
Vidéo couleur, boucle 1 min