Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video<br />
Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry Gallery, London<br />
<br />
<br />
Usually shot in 16mm, Ben Rivers experimental films offer open and non-linear narratives where animals, plants, and architecture participate in the vast parliament of things. Alternative lifestyles are one of the common threads of his works where time and space become true flexible materials.<br />
Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.

Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video
Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry Gallery, London


Usually shot in 16mm, Ben Rivers experimental films offer open and non-linear narratives where animals, plants, and architecture participate in the vast parliament of things. Alternative lifestyles are one of the common threads of his works where time and space become true flexible materials.
Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.

Virtual tour

TOI 700d

Curator: Fabien Danesi

Noémie Goudal, Cindy Coutant, Kim Farkas, Daiga Grantina, Antwan Horfee, Botond Keresztesi , Roy Köhnke, Claire Van Lubeek, Ben Rivers, Yan Tomaszewski

Exhibition from June 5 through July 24, 2021

[ Vernissage/opening Saturday, June 5, 2021 ]

In January 2020, NASA announced the discovery of a new exoplanet, visible near the red dwarf TOI 700. If it has joined a catalog that already includes 4000 celestial objects, this one has a particular quality: the distance with its sun could allow the presence of water, which potentially makes it a “habitable” land. The fact remains that the 100 light years that separate us from TOI 700d turns this information into real speculation. No one will be able to tread its hypothetical rocky ground. So you might as well take this name as an excuse to invent a biotope playing with differences and similarities with our knowledge to show how the powers of art are often at stake in transformation…

Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video<br />
Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry Gallery, London<br />
<br />
<br />
Usually shot in 16mm, Ben Rivers experimental films offer open and non-linear narratives where animals, plants, and architecture participate in the vast parliament of things. Alternative lifestyles are one of the common threads of his works where time and space become true flexible materials.<br />
Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.Courtesy Cindy Coutant<br />
Télédésir, film, 4K, 27', 2018<br />
Courtesy of the artist<br />
<br />
Whether in the form of videos, installations or augmented readings, Cindy Coutant's works lie at the heart of desire. Living things and technology take on hybrid appearances which are all possibilities to encrypt emotional states. Thus, her approach can be part of the genre of anticipation to better radiograph the contemporary mutations of our affects.Noémie Goudal, Satellite I, 2014<br />
<br />
While Noémie Goudal's photographs assume descriptive precision in the continuity of the Dusseldorf School, its abandon the objectivity of reality for the reconstruction of a universe of signs that escapes the transparency of the image. Between archeology and science fiction, immaculate nature and artificial landscapes, her representations project the viewer into an uncertain world where the animal strategy of mimicry replaces classic mimesis.Kim Farkas, 20-08 (HS), 2020<br />
Composite materials, LED system, electronics<br />
Approx. 100 x 15 x 11 cm<br />
Courtesy of the artist and Downs & Ross gallery<br />
<br />
Kim Farkas's sculptures present a biomorphic vocabulary that does not erase their industrial character. The design is used there as a reference to be diverted in order to produce objects combining utility and magic. It is a question here of encoding popular practices through esotericism which opens this production to new functions and appropriations.<br />
Courtesy of the artistRoy Köhnke, Suspended consumption #1, #2 et #3, 2019<br />
Plaster, steel, ethernet cables, variable dimensions.<br />
Photo credit: Salim Santa Lucia<br />
<br />
Roy Köhnke-Jehl's mutant pieces are like three-dimensional anatomical boards depicting species straight out of his imagination. Felt, plaster and elastomer are the materials used to deploy these unknown forms where the inside and the outside, the surface and the depth are designed from their tensions. It is about mass and gravity, movement and inertia, study and dissection.<br />
Courtesy of the artist<br />
Botond Keresztesi, Unidentified Flora and fauna 2, 2021<br />
120x100 cm , Acrylic and oil on canvas<br />
Photo : David Biro<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste<br />
<br />
Botond Keresztesi offers precise paintings in acid colors that work like surreal collages. Objects from different worlds are brought together in scenes where commercial imagery meets Hollywood cinema and art history references. The cold fetishism of his detailed descriptions deconstructs the endless recycling of images in the internet age.Yan Tomaszewski, Khthon, 2019<br />
Glazed stoneware and porcelain, blown and thermoformed glass<br />
Courtesy of the artist<br />
<br />
At the crossroads of scientific research and mythical narrative, Yan Tomaszewksi's work articulates moving images and three-dimensional objects from an architectural perspective. Creation and destruction mingle in his anthropological investigations which question the demiurgic character of human activities. Rationality is tinged with a strangeness that can describe the psychic ambivalence of our desire to design the worldDaiga Grantina, Around green, 2020<br />
Fabric, wood, paint, wax<br />
70 x 90 x 15 cm<br />
Courtesy of the artist and Emalin, London<br />
<br />
Daiga Grantina's sculptural work develops an abstraction where colors, lights and materials play out in multiple associations producing organic as well as machinic evocations. Borrowing from both lichens and cyborgs, her works convey the physical and mental density of a presence in the world for which formal autonomy and structural interdependence are no longer opposed.©Antwan Horfee / courtesy of the artist and Nino Mier Gallery<br />
<br />
Inspired by manga and animated movies, Antwan Horfee's paintings assume a dancing vocabulary where spray stains, acrylic solids or chalk lines promote a playful and colorful composition. All these patterns constitute a lacunar and unsystematic encyclopedia of the expressive possibilities of his medium worked by a logic of contamination. Digital and 3D images then proliferate, abandoning all perfection.Claire Van Lubeek, Trouble with the Surrealists, 2019<br />
Courtesy of the artist<br />
<br />
From an aesthetic of pop and saturated assemblage, Claire van Lubeek offers sculptural installations with strong narrative potential. Her sculptures have a dystopian quality where fear is not devoid of charm, where horror can become seductive. Such a contradiction testifies to an attraction for the figure of the monster, understood as the expression of a dislocation of the coercive structures of capitalism.<br />

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste et Kate MacGarry Gallery, Londres<br />
<br />
Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.

Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video
Courtesy de l’artiste et Kate MacGarry Gallery, Londres

Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.

Visite virtuelle

TOI 700d

Commissariat : Fabien Danesi

Noémie Goudal, Cindy Coutant, Kim Farkas, Daiga Grantina, Antwan Horfee, Botond Keresztesi , Roy Köhnke, Claire Van Lubeek, Ben Rivers, Yan Tomaszewski

Du 5 juin au 24 juillet 2021

[ Vernissage samedi 5 juin 2021 ]

En janvier 2020, la NASA annonça la découverte d’une nouvelle exoplanète, visible près de la naine rouge TOI 700.  Si elle est venue rejoindre un catalogue qui comprend déjà 4000 corps célestes, celle-ci présente une qualité particulière : la distance vis-à-vis de son soleil pourrait permettre la présence d’eau, ce qui en fait potentiellement une terre “habitable” . Reste que les 100 années-lumière qui nous séparent de TOI 700d transforme cette information en une véritable spéculation. Personne ne pourra fouler le sol rocheux qui la constituerait. Alors autant prendre prétexte de cette appellation pour inventer un biotope qui joue des écarts et des ressemblances avec ce que nous connaissons pour montrer comment les puissances de l’art sont souvent celles de la transformation…

Ben Rivers, Look Then Below, 2019, 16mm/HD video<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste et Kate MacGarry Gallery, Londres<br />
<br />
Tournés le plus souvent en 16mm, les films expérimentaux de Ben Rivers offrent des récits ouverts et non linéaires où animaux, plantes, et architectures participent au vaste parlement des choses. Les modes de vie alternatifs sont l’un des fils conducteurs de ses oeuvres où le temps et l’espace deviennent de véritables matières ductiles.Courtesy Cindy Coutant<br />
Télédésir, film, 4K, 27', 2018<br />
Courtesy de l'artiste<br />
<br />
Que ce soit sous la forme de vidéos, d’installations ou de lectures augmentées, les œuvres de Cindy Coutant se logent au cœur du désir. Le vivant et la technologie y prennent des apparences hybrides qui sont autant de possibilités de crypter des états émotionnels en devenir. Ainsi, son approche peut s’inscrire dans le genre de l’anticipation pour mieux radiographier les mutations contemporaines de nos affects. <br />
Noémie Goudal, Satellite I, 2014<br />
<br />
Si les photographies de Noémie Goudal assument une précision descriptive dans la continuité de l’École de Dusseldorf, elles délaissent l'objectivité du réel pour la reconstruction d’un univers de signes qui échappe à la transparence de l’image. Entre archéologie et science-fiction, nature immaculée et paysages artificiels, ses représentations projettent le spectateur dans un monde incertain où la stratégie animale du mimétisme se substitue à la mimesis classique. Kim Farkas, 20-08 (HS), 2020<br />
Matériaux composites, Système LED, electroniques<br />
Approx. 100 x 15 x 11 cm<br />
Courtesy de l'artiste et Downs & Ross gallery<br />
 <br />
Les sculptures de Kim Farkas présentent un vocabulaire biomorphique qui n’efface pas leur caractère industriel. Le design y est utilisé comme une référence à détourner afin de produire des objets combinant utilité et magie. Il s’agit ici d’encoder des pratiques populaires à travers une sorte d’ésotérisme qui ouvre cette production à de nouvelles fonctions et appropriations.Roy Köhnke, Suspended consumption #1, #2 et #3, 2019<br />
Plâtre, acier, câbles éthernet, dimensions variables.<br />
Crédit photo : Salim Santa Lucia<br />
Courtesy de l'artiste<br />
<br />
Les pièces mutantes de Roy Köhnke-Jehl sont comme des planches anatomiques en trois dimensions décrivant des espèces tout droit sorties de son imagination. Feutre, plâtre et élastomère sont les matières employées pour déployer ces formes inconnues où le dedans et le dehors, la surface et la profondeur sont travaillés sur le mode de la tension. Il y est question de masse et de pesanteur, de mouvement et d’inertie, d’étude et de dissection.Botond Keresztesi, Unidentified Flora and fauna 2, 2021<br />
120x100 cm , Acrylique et huile sur toile<br />
Photo: David Biro<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste<br />
<br />
Botond Keresztesi propose des peintures précises aux couleurs acides qui fonctionnent comme des collages surréalistes. Les objets qui appartiennent à des univers différents sont réunis dans des scènes où l’imagerie commerciale rejoint le cinéma hollywoodien et les références classiques de l’histoire de l’art. Le fétichisme froid de ses descriptions détaillées déconstruit le recyclage infini des images à l’ère d’internet. Yan Tomaszewski, Khthon, 2019<br />
Grès et porcelaine émaillés, verre soufflé et thermoformé<br />
Courtesy de l'artiste<br />
<br />
Au croisement de la recherche scientifique et du récit mythique, le travail de Yan Tomaszewksi articule images en mouvement et objets tridimensionnels dans une perspective souvent architecturale. Création et destruction se mêlent dans ses enquêtes anthropologiques qui interrogent le caractère démiurgique des activités humaines. La rationalité se teinte d’une étrangeté à même de décrire l’ambivalence psychique de notre désir de façonner le monde. Daiga Grantina, Around green, 2020<br />
Tissu, bois, peinture, cire<br />
70 x 90 x 15 cm<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste et Emalin, London<br />
<br />
La pratique sculpturale de Daiga Grantina développe une abstraction où couleurs, lumières et matériaux se jouent de multiples associations. Il s’agit alors de produire des évocations organiques autant que machiniques. Empruntant à la fois aux lichens et aux cyborgs, ses pièces traduisent la densité physique et mentale d’une présence au monde pour laquelle autonomie formelle et interdépendance structurelle ne s’opposent plus. ©Antwan Horfee / courtesy de l'artiste et Nino Mier Gallery<br />
<br />
Nourries de mangas et autres films d’animation, les peintures d’Antwan Horfee assument un vocabulaire dansant où taches au spray, aplats d'acrylique ou encore traits à la craie grasse favorisent une mise en scène ludique et colorée. Tous ces motifs constituent une encyclopédie lacunaire et non systématique des possibilités expressives de son médium travaillé par une logique de contamination. Images numériques et 3D prolifèrent alors en délaissant toute perfection. Claire Van Lubeek, Trouble with the Surrealists, 2019<br />
Courtesy de l’artiste<br />
<br />
À partir d’une esthétique de l’assemblage pop et saturée, Claire van Lubeek offre des dispositifs à fort potentiel narratif. Ses sculptures ont une qualité dystopique où l’effroi n’est pas dénué de charme, où l’horreur peut devenir séduisante. Pareille contradiction témoigne d’un attrait pour la figure du monstre, entendue comme l’expression d’une dislocation des structures coercitives du capitalisme.