Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
The Arrival <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019

The Arrival
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019

Diana Markosian

Santa Barbara

Diana Markosian

Exhibition from October 28 to December 17, 2022

[ Opening on Thursday, October 27, 2022 (6:30 pm - 9 pm) ]

Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, one of the first American television programs to be broadcast in Russia was Santa Barbara (1984–93). Watching from her childhood home in Moscow with her family, Diana Markosian saw the soap opera as a window into a world of fantasy, escape, and the American Dream. Santa Barbara, California, became a mythical place that loomed large in the family imagination, and eventually, through her mother’s sacrifices, it became their home.

In her version of Santa Barbara, Markosian reconstructs and reexamines both the Russia and the United States of her childhood, tracing her family’s real-life move as their dream became reality. An extension of her documentary practice, the project allows Markosian to relive her childhood on her own terms, inviting us to step into her family’s collective memory, using archival family materials, staged images, and a scripted film.

Markosian grants access to her family’s story and also to her process. The tension between performance and reality is further complicated by her willingness to pull back the curtain and expose her tools. As it moves from Moscow to the United States, Santa Barbara tests and challenges the limits of truth, fiction, documentary, and memory.

David Campany

The Arrival <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019Eli's Home <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Vieja Valley<br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Mom and David After School, <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
The Pink Robe <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
The Argument <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
My Father on My Birthday <br />
Series from Moscow, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Call to America<br />
Series from Moscow, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
The Arrival <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019

The Arrival
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019

Diana Markosian

Santa Barbara

Diana Markosian

Exposition du 28 octobre au 17 décembre 2022

[ Vernissage le jeudi 27 octobre 2022 (18h30 – 21h) ]

Après l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique, l’un des premiers programmes de télévision américains à être diffusé en Russie a été Santa Barbara (1984-93). Regardant ce feuilleton depuis la maison de son enfance à Moscou avec sa famille, Diana Markosian l’a vu comme une fenêtre sur un monde de fantaisie, d’évasion et de rêve américain. Santa Barbara, en Californie, est devenu un lieu mythique qui a occupé une place importante dans l’imagination de la famille, et finalement, grâce aux sacrifices de sa mère, il est devenu leur maison.

Dans sa version de Santa Barbara, Markosian reconstruit et réexamine à la fois la Russie et les États-Unis de son enfance, en retraçant le déménagement de sa famille dans la vie réelle, alors que leur rêve devenait réalité. Dans le prolongement de sa pratique documentaire, le projet permet à Markosian de revivre son enfance selon ses propres termes, en nous invitant à pénétrer dans la mémoire collective de sa famille, à l’aide de documents d’archives familiaux, d’images mises en scène et d’un film scénarisé.

Markosian donne accès à l’histoire de sa famille, mais aussi à son processus. La tension entre performance et réalité est accentuée par sa volonté de tirer le rideau et d’exposer ses outils. En passant de Moscou aux États-Unis, Santa Barbara teste et défie les limites de la vérité, de la fiction, du documentaire et de la mémoire.

David Campany

The Arrival <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019Eli's Home <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Vieja Valley<br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Mom and David After School, <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
The Pink Robe <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
The Argument <br />
Series From America, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
My Father on My Birthday <br />
Series from Moscow, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />
Call to America<br />
Series from Moscow, Santa Barbara, 2019<br />