Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House Hunting

Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House Hunting

Todd Hido

Light from Within

Todd Hido

Exhibition from 6 September to 19 October 2019

[ Opening Thursday 5 September 2019 from 6 pm to 9 pm ]

Interruption from 22 September 4 October included

Book signing House Hunting at the gallery on saturday 7 september at 3pm

To launch the new post-summer season in September, Galerie Les Filles du Calvaire has the pleasure of announcing the solo exhibition of American photographer Todd Hido: Light from Within. The gallery will host an exceptional set of images from the Houses at Night series, which made Hido famous. Bright Black World, which tackles, with continued force and beauty, the tragic question of our landscapes undergoing change, complements this group. And a few of his emblematic portraits are spread throughout this panorama. Parallel to the exhibition, the book House Hunting will be republished by Nazraeli Press.

House Hunting is the perfect image of Todd Hido’s artistic and physical wandering; the artist travelled through America by car in order to capture its mystery. The subject is clear, titled without frills: houses seen at night. And yet, the treatment of the image, so recognisable, leads spectators towards a more romantic symbolism, tinged with a certain nostalgia. Its artistic filter is hazy like the mind. To make our imagination more fecund and to stimulate our projections, the presence of mankind is merely implicit. No shadow puppet silhouette. This absence reinforces the work’s mysterious charge and only by the faint glow that emanates from these houses do we guess that they’re inhabited.

With Bright Black World, Todd Hido exits from the American suburbs to explore the desolate landscapes of northern Europe. The psychological geography and interpretation are something else altogether: although he still plays with the aesthetic duality which characterises his work, between strangeness and the sublime, light and shadow, the planet which he describes is now an unfamiliar, post-apocalyptic territory. The humanity suggested in House Hunting has disappeared into the darkness, condemned by its own errors.

« There is no question that this work is about the physicality of climate change that is occurring now. Unless you are in full-blown denial, as unfortunately many people are, these changes are coming far quicker than anybody expected…». Todd Hido.

Download press kit
Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #2736, 2000. From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #4124, 2005, From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #11417-12, 2014Todd Hido, #11506-3940, 2014Todd Hido, #11789-6928, 2017. From the series Bright Black WorldTodd Hido, #11797-3252, 2017. From the series Bright Black WorldTodd Hido, # 11937-8422, 2019. From the series Bright Black WorldTodd Hido<br />
Exhibition view (ground floor)<br />
From September 6th to October 19th, 2019Todd Hido<br />
Exhibition view (ground floor)<br />
From September 6th to October 19th, 2019Todd Hido, <br />
Exhibition view (1st floor)<br />
From September 6th to October 19th, 2019Todd Hido, <br />
Exhibition view (1st floor)<br />
From September 6th to October 19th, 2019

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House Hunting

Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House Hunting

Todd Hido

Light from Within

Todd Hido

Exposition du 6 septembre au 19 octobre 2019

[ Vernissage le jeudi 5 septembre 2019 de 18h à 21h ]

Interruption du 22 septembre au 4 octobre inclus

Signature à la galerie du livre House Hunting le samedi 7 septembre 2019 à 15h

Pour cette rentrée de septembre, la galerie Les filles du calvaire a le plaisir d’annoncer l’exposition personnelle du photographe américain Todd Hido : Light from Within. L’artiste propose à la galerie un exceptionnel ensemble de la série Houses at Night qui l’a rendu célèbre. S’ajoute à ce corpus la série Bright Black World qui aborde toujours avec force et beauté la tragique question de nos paysages en mutation. Quelques portraits emblématiques de son travail ponctuent ce panorama. Parallèlement, l’ouvrage de House Hunting est réédité chez Nazraeli Press.

House Hunting est l’image parfaite de l’errance artistique et physique de Todd Hido qui a sillonné l’Amérique en voiture pour en saisir le mystère. Le sujet est clair, titré sans fioritures : des maisons vues de nuit. Pourtant le traitement de l’image, si reconnaissable, conduit le spectateur vers une symbolique plus romantique, teintée d’une nostalgie certaine. Son filtre artistique est brumeux comme l’esprit. Pour rendre plus fécond notre imaginaire et stimuler nos projections, la présence de l’homme est uniquement implicite. Aucune silhouette en ombre chinoise. Cette absence renforce la charge mystérieuse de l’œuvre et on devine à la seule lueur qui s’en échappe que ces maisons sont habitées.

Avec Bright Black World, Todd Hido sort des banlieues américaines pour explorer des paysages désolés du nord de l’Europe. La géographie psychologique et l’interprétation sont tout autre : s’il joue ici encore avec la dualité esthétique qui le caractérise entre étrangeté et sublime, lumière et ombre, la planète qu’il décrit est désormais un territoire inconnu post-apocalyptique. L’humanité suggérée dans House Hunting, a disparu dans l’obscurité, condamnée par ses propres erreurs.

« Il ne fait aucun doute que ce travail porte sur le caractère physique du changement climatique qui se produit actuellement. Bien que beaucoup de gens soient dans le déni total de cette mutation, elle se produit bien plus rapidement que prévu. » Todd Hido.

Télécharger le dossier de presse
Todd Hido, #2319-b, 1999. From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #2736, 2000. From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #4124, 2005, From the series House HuntingTodd Hido, #11417-12, 2014Todd Hido, #11506-3940, 2014Todd Hido, #11789-6928, 2017. From the series Bright Black WorldTodd Hido, #11797-3252, 2017. From the series Bright Black WorldTodd Hido, # 11937-8422, 2019. From the series Bright Black World