Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Current Past Upcoming
APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
acrylic dispersion, sign painters paint, and ground mineral on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on stretched billboard vinyl.<br />
213 x 165 cm

APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020
acrylic dispersion, sign painters paint, and ground mineral on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on stretched billboard vinyl.
213 x 165 cm

Virtual tour

James Hyde

Going Public Sculpture

James Hyde

Exhibition from February 1 to 26, 2022

[ Opening Saturday January 29, 2022 (3pm - 8pm) ]

Les filles du calvaire gallery is pleased to present a new exhibition of the American artist James Hyde. Based in Brooklyn, the artist returns to Paris with a new set of pictorial works. For over thirty years, his work has been an exploration and experimentation of materiality, mixing mediums (sculpture/fresco, photography, painting, virtual) to raise questions about creation, the work of art. This new body of work uses the pretext of public sculpture by drowning it in a strangeness that shifts the gaze, arouses a curiosity and attention that tends to disappear today in the unique format of our social networks.

Extracts from James Hyde’s Going Public Sculpture by Hovey Brock :

« We first connect to James Hyde’s works through obvious esthetic hooks like color and surface, even as the canvases don’t seem to follow abstract or representational conventions. Then come attempts to decipher the scraps of digital photographic images in the large works that Hyde patches with paint and other materials. These images of public sculptures in various cities derive from Hyde’s avid practice of photography. They are an ironic choice of subject matter as public sculptures in cities rarely engage the attention of anyone except tourists and in the few instances that they do, it is more often as obstacles than artworks. Hyde takes our fraught connection to public sculpture as a gambit to explore the collective nature of cognition, a theme he examines from many angles in his new exhibition, Going Public Sculpture at Galerie les filles du calvaire.

[…] How are we to account for Hyde’s insistence on accentuating pictorial ambiguity in the paintings? Why does he compare and contrast the actual figure-ground relationships between the frescoes and the gallery walls with the pictorial figure-ground relationships within the paintings? Why does he include an augmented reality piece that operates in a different realm entirely from the actual and the pictorial? In part these outcomes derive from his omnivorous improvisation, but in larger part—and of greater interest to us—Hyde’s focus lies not in solving problems but in playing with our expectations. He is at heart a skeptic, and we can understand his paintings, fresco installations, and forays into virtual space as thought experiments about cognition and its handmaiden, vision. […] Hyde’s ambition to knock the viewer off the pedestal of assumptions goes to the heart of his painterly project.  »

Hyde takes up the idea that painting comes out of chaos to lead to order and it is up to us to come out of the abyss despite the isolation imposed on us by our technological addictions, to recreate our world through his works.

APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
acrylic dispersion, sign painters paint, and ground mineral on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on stretched billboard vinyl.<br />
213 x 165 cmFOOTS, 2020<br />
acrylic dispersion on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on board<br />
56 x 30 cm<br />
HERMES (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
acrylic dispersion pigments, acrylic, archival inkjet print and urethane varnishes on stretched vinyl billboard (uv) print<br />
213 x 244 cm<br />
MIDTOWN (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
acrylic dispersion pigments powder glass and sand acrylic and urethane varnishes on stretched vinyl billboard (uv) print<br />
165 x 213 cmREVERIE (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
acrylic dispersion with powder glass and sand on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on stretched linen<br />
68 x 51 cm<br />
SCULPTURE AND DOG, 2017<br />
UV print and urethane on mirror plate stainless steel<br />
147 x 117 cmTREADS (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
acrylic dispersion with powder glass and sand on archival inkjet print sealed with urethane and uv varnish on stretched linen<br />
122 x 76 cm<br />
<br />
UP AND DOWN (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
acrylic dispersion pigments, powder glass and sand acrylic and uretahne varnishes on stretched vinyl billboard (uv) print<br />
213 x 244 cm<br />
<br />

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

En cours Passées À venir
APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
dispersion acrylique, peinture pour enseignes et minéraux broyés sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival), scellée à l’uréthane et au vernis UV sur panneau d’affichage en vinyle tendu. <br />
213 x 165 cm

APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020
dispersion acrylique, peinture pour enseignes et minéraux broyés sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival), scellée à l’uréthane et au vernis UV sur panneau d’affichage en vinyle tendu.
213 x 165 cm

James Hyde

Going Public Sculpture

James Hyde

Exposition du 1er au 26 février 2022

[ Vernissage samedi 29 janvier 2022 (15h - 20h) ]

La galerie Les filles du calvaire a le plaisir de présenter une nouvelle exposition de l’artiste américain James Hyde. Basé à Brooklyn, l’artiste revient à Paris avec un ensemble inédit d’œuvres picturales. Depuis plus de trente ans, son œuvre est une exploration et une expérimentation de la matérialité, mélangeant les médiums (sculpture/fresque, photographie, peinture, virtuel) pour faire surgir les questions sur la création, l’œuvre d’art. Ce nouveau corpus d’œuvres utilise le prétexte de la sculpture publique en la noyant dans une étrangeté qui déplace le regard, suscite une curiosité et une attention qui tend à disparaitre aujourd’hui dans le format unique de nos réseaux sociaux.

Extraits du texte James Hyde’s Going Public Sculpture par Hovey Brock

« Nous nous connectons aux œuvres de James Hyde par le biais d’accroches esthétiques manifestes comme la couleur et la surface, même si les toiles ne semblent pas suivre les conventions de l’abstraction ou de la représentation. Viennent ensuite les tentatives de décryptage de fragments d’images photographiques que Hyde recouvre de peinture et d’autres matériaux. Ces images de sculptures publiques dans diverses villes […] constituent un choix de sujet ironique, car les sculptures publiques attirent rarement l’attention, à l’exception de celle des touristes, et dans les rares cas où elles le font, elles sont plus perçues comme obstacle que comme œuvre d’art. Hyde utilise nos relations chargées avec la sculpture publique pour explorer la nature collective de la cognition, un thème qu’il examine sous de nombreux angles dans sa nouvelle exposition à la Galerie Les filles du calvaire.

[…] Comment expliquer l’insistance de Hyde à accentuer l’ambiguïté picturale des tableaux ? Pourquoi compare-t-il et oppose-t-il le réel de la relation entre fresques et murs de la galerie et l’imaginaire picturales entre figures et fond dans les peintures ? Pourquoi inclut-il une pièce en réalité augmentée qui opère dans un domaine totalement différent du réel et de l’imaginaire ? En partie par son improvisation et sa curiosité, mais surtout – et c’est ce qui nous intéresse le plus – l’objectif de Hyde n’est pas de résoudre des problèmes mais de jouer avec nos attentes. C’est un sceptique dans l’âme, et nous pouvons comprendre ses peintures, ses fresques et ses incursions dans l’espace virtuel comme des expériences de pensée. […] L’ambition de Hyde de faire tomber le spectateur de son piédestal d’hypothèses est au cœur de son projet pictural en capitalisant sur la sensibilité contemporaine au statut de l’image photographique qui nous plonge dans l’incertitude. »

Hyde reprend l’idée que la peinture sort du chaos pour mener à l’ordre et c’est ici à nous de sortir de l’abime malgré l’isolement que nous impose nos addictions technologiques, de recréer notre monde grâce à ses œuvres.

Avec une sculpture en réalité augmentée en collaboration avec Nathan Hauenstein

APHRODITE, (SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
dispersion acrylique, peinture pour enseignes et minéraux broyés sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival), scellée à l’uréthane et au vernis UV sur panneau d’affichage en vinyle tendu. <br />
213 x 165 cmFOOTS, 2020<br />
dispersion acrylique sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival) scellée à l’uréthane et vernis UV sur carton<br />
56 x 30 cm<br />
HERMES (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
dispersion de pigments acrylique, acrylique, impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival) et vernis uréthane sur panneau d’affichage en vinyle tendu (uv)<br />
213 x 244 cm<br />
MIDTOWN (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
dispersion de pigment acrylique, poudre de verre et sable, vernis acrylique et urethane sur panneau d’affichage vinyle tendu (uv)<br />
165 x 213 cmREVERIE (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
dispersion acrylique avec poudre de verre et sable sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier<br />
Archival) scellée à l’uréthane et vernis UV sur toile tendue<br />
68 x 51 cm<br />
SCULPTURE AND DOG, 2017<br />
Impression UV et vernis uréthane sur plaque miroir en acier inoxydable<br />
147 x 117 cmTREADS (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2020<br />
dispersion acrylique sur impression jet d’encre (sur papier Archival), scellée à l’uréthane et vernis UV sur toile tendue sur carton.<br />
122 x 76 cm<br />
<br />
UP AND DOWN (PUBLIC SCULPTURE), 2021<br />
dispersion de pigments acrylique, poudre de verre et sable, vernis acrylique et uréthane sur panneau d’affichage en vinyle tendu (uv)<br />
213 x 244 cm<br />
<br />
LIGHT & BLUE, 2021<br />
fresque sur polystyrène<br />
20 x 20 cm<br />