Newsletter Sign up

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Kenny
Dunkan

More infos
View of the exhibition KEEP GOING at the gallery Les filles du calvaire, 2021

View of the exhibition KEEP GOING at the gallery Les filles du calvaire, 2021

View of the exhibition KEEP GOING at the gallery Les filles du calvaire, 2021View of the exhibition KEEP GOING at the gallery Les filles du calvaire, 2021Kenny Dunkan, The Forbidden fruit (002), 2020,Kenny Dunkan, PLEASEDRIVEMECRAZ, 2019Kenny Dunkan, Affinities are miracles, 2019,Kenny Dunkan, PANSPERMIA, 2018Kenny Dunkan, NO APOLOGIES, 2020Kenny Dunkan, BWA-BWA, 2020Kenny Dunkan, Udrivinmecraz, video. 2014Kenny Dunkan, MAS-A-PWOTEKSYON, 2018. Mesh cover of burnished metal nuts and nylon cable ties, leather shoes, PMMA, afro hair gel, LED. 220 x 120 x 60 cmKenny Dunkan, RESISTANCE, 2017. Survival blankets, adhesive and pavers. 2000 m2Kenny Dunkan, Protection #2, 2015. Mesh cover of burnished metal nuts and nylon cable clamps. 110 x 75 x 15 cm.Kenny Dunkan - Atelier A / ADAGP

Kenny Dunkan

Born in 1988, in Guadeloupe

Lives and works in Paris

Kenny Dunkan regulary draws on the visual culture of the Caribbean and in particular carnivals, periods of reversal of social, cultural and political roles, to develop a work that addresses the French colonial heritage and the persistence of its modes of representation. To do this, Dunkan often starts from his own black body which he stages through different media, from video to performance, sculpture or assembly.

Graduated from the École nationale des Arts DĂ©coratifs de Paris in 2014 with the congratulations of the jury, he won the ADAGP prize for Plastic Arts at the 2015 Salon de Montrouge. From 2016 to 2017, Kenny Dunkan was a former fellow of Villa MĂ©dicis, AcadĂ©mie de France in Rome. In 2018, he participated in the opening exhibition of Lafayette Anticipations in Paris. Two years later, he exhibited for the first time at the Galerie Les filles du calvaire in Paris. The same year, he integrates the collection of the CNAP with his installation “COSMOS” and becomes laureate of the first Reiffers Art Initiatives mentorship.

Newsletter S'inscrire

Galerie Les filles du Calvaire

Kenny
Dunkan

Plus d'infos
Vue de l'exposition KEEP GOING à la galerie Les filles du calvaire, 2021

Vue de l'exposition KEEP GOING à la galerie Les filles du calvaire, 2021

Vue de l'exposition KEEP GOING à la galerie Les filles du calvaire, 2021Vue de l'exposition KEEP GOING à la galerie Les filles du calvaire, 2021Kenny Dunkan, The Forbidden fruit (002), 2020Kenny Dunkan, PLEASEDRIVEMECRAZ, 2019Kenny Dunkan, Affinities are miracles, 2019Kenny Dunkan, PANSPERMIA, 2018Kenny Dunkan, NO APOLOGIES, 2020Kenny Dunkan, BWA-BWA, 2020Kenny Dunkan, Udrivinmecraz, vidéo. 2014Kenny Dunkan, MAS-A-PWOTEKSYON, 2018. Cotte de maille d’écrous métalliques brunis et serres-câbles en nylon, chaussures en cuir, PMMA, gel pour cheveux afro, LED. 220 x 120 x 60 cmKenny Dunkan, RESISTANCE, 2017. Couvertures de survie, adhésif et pavés. 2000 m2Kenny Dunkan - Atelier A / ADAGP

Kenny Dunkan

Né en 1988, en Guadeloupe

Vit et travaille à Paris

Kenny Dunkan puise régulièrement dans la culture visuelle des Caraïbes et en particulier dans celle des carnavals, périodes de renversement des rôles sociaux, culturels et politiques, pour développer une oeuvre qui adresse l’héritage colonial français et la persistance de ses modes de représentation. Pour cela, l’artiste part souvent de son propre corps noir qu’il met en scène via différents médiums, de la vidéo à la performance en passant par la sculpture ou l’assemblage.

Diplômé de l’École nationale des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 2014, il remporte le prix de l’ADAGP des Arts plastiques du Salon de Montrouge en 2015. De 2016 à 2017, Kenny Dunkan est pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis, Académie de France à Rome. En 2018, il participe à l’exposition d’ouverture de Lafayette Anticipations. Trois ans plus tard, il expose pour la première fois à la Galerie Les filles du calvaire à Paris et intègre la même année les collections du CNAP avec l’installation « COSMOS ». Il devient lauréat du premier mentorat Reiffers Art Initiatives, qui présente alors son travail à la première exposition du programme au studio des Acacias by Mazarine.